June 7, 2019

Willkie attorneys were honored with four accolades at the Chambers Diversity & Inclusion Awards: USA 2019, held on June 6. 

Partner Wesley Powell was named LGBT+ Equality Lawyer of the Year, awarded to a partner leading the way in commitment to LGBT+ diversity and inclusion. Wes has a twenty-five year history of fighting for civil rights and against injustice on behalf of the LGBT+ community and promoting the advancement of LGBT+ community members in the legal profession and public life.

Associate Kyle Mathews was awarded the Future Leader – LGBT+ Equality award. This award is for an associate noted for LGBT+ diversity and inclusion commitment. Kyle is a committed pro bono lawyer and has worked on a number of LGBT+ national and international cases, and is an active supporter and volunteer for organizations helping the LGBT+ community. 

Associate Jocelyn Sher was awarded the Future Leader – Gender Diversity award, given to an associate recognized for commitment to gender diversity and inclusion. Jocelyn plays an active role in the firm’s Women’s Professional Development Committee and mentoring programs. She is an advisory board member for Her Justice, a non-profit organization that provides pro bono legal services to women in need. 

Partner Elizabeth Bower was highly commended in the category of Gender Diversity Lawyer of the Year, recognizing partners leading the way in commitment to gender diversity and inclusion. Liz is extremely active in recruiting and retaining women lawyers at the firm, and supporting women in their efforts to secure and protect their legal rights through pro bono efforts. 

The firm and its attorneys were shortlisted for a total of eight awards. See Willkie’s May 3 announcement.

Chambers highlights that its Diversity and Inclusion program “aims to promote the advancement of inclusion across the global legal profession through research, training, workshops, forums and awards,” and that the “awards represent the culmination of our research and also celebrate those firms and individuals who are furthering the advancement of diversity and inclusion in the US.”