June 14, 2017

It was recently announced that partner Mary Eaton will be the 2017 recipient of the Federal Bar Council’s prestigious Thurgood Marshall Award for Exceptional Commitment to Pro Bono Service.  “This award recognizes and celebrates lawyers in private practice who have demonstrated an exemplary commitment to providing or facilitating pro bono legal services in federal courts or agencies within the Second Circuit.”

Ms. Eaton has worked tirelessly on numerous high-profile pro bono matters with respect to LGBT rights, prisoners’ rights and reproductive rights, among others, obtaining some landmark results. In recent years, she has been recognized with a number of awards for pro bono service, including the Legal Aid Society’s “Pro Bono Publico Award” (six of the last seven years), the Sylvia Rivera Law Project’s “Attorneys and Advocate Award” and the NY State Bar Association’s “Outstanding Pro Bono Volunteer” award, in addition to being selected by the New York Law Journal as one of its 2015 honorees for its “Lawyers Who Lead by Example” award.

The Federal Bar Council serves the courts and legal community of the Second Circuit.  Ms. Eaton will be honored at its special awards reception on June 29.